Christmas Eve at our House

Okay so I’ve talked about our tradition of Christmas Eve Breakfast.

I thought I would share some other Christmas Eve traditions for our family.
My husband works retail. So that means that every Christmas Eve he is at work usually until around 4-5pm. So the kids and I spend the day being lazy around the house. They usually have some gifts from extended family to open on that day too. So that gives them something to keep them busy.

Then I start getting ready for our traditional Christmas Eve Night Dinner. My kids look forward to this meal all year long. Why? Because I just make a bunch of junk! Then I pack it all in lunch boxes and bags, one for each of us.

Christmas Eve Dinner

Inside the bags you will find: Pigs in a Blanket, Sausage Cheese Balls, Sausage Swirls, Summer Sausage, Sliced Cheddar Cheese, Crackers, Sliced Apples, Orange Wedges, and usually some carrots and ranch dip. The kids also get a huge candy cane in their boxes.

Christmas Eve Dinner

Why do I pack it all up?
Well, as soon as my hubby gets home we grab up our bags of food and pile in the car. Then we drive to some random Christmas Light display.
This year it was to a display about an hour away called Lake Myra Christmas, the kids watch Christmas movies in the back of the car and eat their food. While hubby and I get a chance to chat and catch up (we don’t see him much during the Christmas season).

Christmas Lights at Lake Myra

We really enjoyed this years Christmas Lights. They have them hooked up to a computer so they come off and on to the music and stories that are broadcast over a radio station. You park your car and then go stand around in these people’s yard and watch the lights. It was a lot of fun and the total program lasts about 30 minutes complete with a snow machine blowing snow over their yard. The kids said it was the best they’ve seen so far!

Then we head home to open up Christmas Pajamas. My parents always get the grandkids a new pair of Christmas Pj’s. Caedmon is a stickler for following tradition and was starting to panic at the first of the week because they weren’t under the tree yet. lol

PJ's from Paw-paw and Nanna
PJ's from Paw-paw and Nanna

Both kids got a new Blanket Sleeper. They love wearing them and I love remembering them in the ones I kept them in when they were babies. *sigh*

Then it’s time to fix the milk and cookies for Santa. Set them out and head off to bed. This year they choose to give Santa Raspberry Thumbprint Cookies (my new favorite, I will share those in a few days) and Eggnog.

Cookies and Eggnog for Santa

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Caedmon, Christmas Gifts, Crazy Life, Kat. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Eve at our House

  1. Mandi says:

    Okay, that Christmas Eve dinner wins for the funnest tradition EVER!!!!

    We do Christmas Eve PJs too (surprise, surprise! LOL!), and it is probably one of my favorite traditions!

Leave a Reply

