Here is what a weekend of football gives you..

A while back I had posted that I had almost finished a prayer shawl for my other grandmother. Well this past Saturday I decided I didn’t like it and ripped it out and started over.

This past weekend was the big kick-off for College Football. My dh isn’t into NFL but he loves college football. So Saturday found the two of us sitting on the couch. Flipping back and forth between the Auburn game and the TN game, with DH listening to the Alabama game on his computer. What else was I to do but work on something. I had the clapotis sitting there finished, just waiting for me to weave in a few ends. But instead I ripped out the prayer shawl and started over.

I finished it Sunday night and I’m happy with it this time. It’s thinner then the other one I made but my grandmother can’t deal with heavy things on her back. So this shawl is thin and long. She should have plenty of it left in the front to cover her arms with. At this point in her life she spends most of her days sitting in her recliner dozing off and on.

It’s made out of Lion Brand Homespun in Tudor with a P hook. It’s just simple row after row of double crochet. (That’s my little girl modeling it) It’s already been boxed and is sitting in the closet waiting for Christmas wrapping paper!

We have an employee who’s wife is expecting their first baby in December. They recently found out they are having a little boy, so this weekend I got started on one of their gifts.

I’m making this pattern for a star afgan with a K Hook with Lion Brand Jiffy yarn in the colors Fisherman, Heather Blue and Apple Green. I am a little more the halfway finished and I hope to be done with it tonight.

I also cast on my 2nd sock this past Friday. I haven’t done much on it as it is now my designated Tae Kwon Do project. Yes that’s right, forget being a soccer mom, I am a Tae Kwon Do mom now. C started taking classes last week and he really loves it. The sock with be my project for sitting in the studio during his 3 classes a week! K starts Ballet class today, but for her classes I will be stuck sitting in the car so I can work on bigger projects!

I will also be finishing up and blocking the clapotis today. I need to get it in the mail tomorrow! So I guess I better get off the computer and get to work! lol

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Baby, Caedmon, Christmas Gifts, clapotis, Crochet, Kat, socks. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here is what a weekend of football gives you..

  1. Yarn Thing says:

    Don’t you just love crochet and how fast it goes? I mean, to a knitter who doesn’t crochet…to frog a project and then have it refinished the next day is unimaginable…but to a crocheter…all in a days work 🙂

    My Grandma is the same way with the heavy stuff on her back. Doesn’t like it. Acutally, she prefers ponchos so when she gets up and moves around it doesn’t fall off so she has me make ponchos all the time. Easy really…

    Marly

  2. Pingback: Quick Crafty Update… « On Hooks and Needles

Leave a Reply

