Christmas Planning

I’m slowly getting into the holiday spirit.

My whole family is going to be coming up from Alabama the weekend after Turkey Day so that we can recreate Thanksgiving Day together.  I’m so stinking excited!  
Of course this means that I will be cooking a full on Thanksgiving Day menu on Turkey Day and then again the following Sunday.  The pluses are that my children would happily eat Thanksgiving leftovers for weeks if needed, I love to cook, and my freezer should be full of turkey for a while! 

Aside from that, this weekend is the Christmas Open House at my Dh’s store.  I always make all the goodies for it.  So I will be spending tomorrow in the kitchen baking away, I sadly haven’t made my list yet (which I kinda need to do). THe staples are always Sugar Cookies, Chocolate Chip Cookies and Cheese Straws.  Then I usualy try out 3 or 4 cookie recipes that I want to test.  It’s fun for me to bake all day, and it’s fun for the kids to sneak cookies when they think I’m not watching. lol 

On the crafty front I am almost done with the scarves for my hubby’s store.  I have one left I think, and then I will take a picture of the madness that has been the last week or so. 
Then I need to get back to work on dishcloths and my daughters Babette. 
I’m also planning a scrapbook project.  I’ve been slowly working away at our regular family pictures.  However I really want to make a recipe book of all our family favorites.  Since I will be making a few of our family faves tomorrow for the open house I plan to take some pictures.  I want to scrap them in a landscape style 81/2 x 11 format.  I’m thinking that if I do a two page spread I will be able to have a large picture of the food, maybe a picture of one of the family enjoying it, and then a whole page with the recipe printed out on it.  I think it will be a really neat thing to have and I’m excited about getting started on it.

I’m also considering looking into doing it with the mini-books on Shutterfly.
 Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Wouldn’t that be a neat thing to do and put up for the kids?
 A little album of Christmas Cookie recipes, or a little book of Thanksgiving with Mom.  I think that would be pretty neat to have.  I know most of the things I remember my mom making when I was little she has forgotten how to make.   

 Speaking of my kids, we are having a horrible time coming up with ideas for Christmas gifts.  My little man (who is 7) has decided he is too old for most of the toys he wants, but he’s too young for most everything else.   So he can’t come up with anything he really really wants.  Other then this….
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
So it will be a interesting Christmas for me this year, trying to come up with gifts for him. lol

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Christmas Gifts, Crochet, knitting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

