24 1/2

Yes my friends in the past 3 weeks (I think it’s been 3 weeks), I managed to knit 24 and 1/2 scarfs. Why 1/2 you ask??

Well Friday night after I finished making the piles and piles of cookies for my hubby’s store, I settled in around 1 in the morning to make the cheese straws. I make these cheese straws each and every year, and have had customers come in just to get the cheese straws.
Growing up in Alabama everybody made cheese straws, and the truth is they are really simple to make so it wasn’t that big of a deal. Apparantly no one here in NC got the memo that cheese straws are really simple, so they are all amazed at my cheese straw making powers.
Not that I mind the amazement. lol

Anyway, I settled in to make cheese straws only to discover that my cookie press is broken. So what does a southern girl who is desperate to complete at least one batch of the promised cheese straws do? I forced the “plunger thing” through the cookie press by hand. It was horribly slow going and I finally gave up around 2:30 when I realized it would take me all night to press them this way.
The rest of the dough I rolled by hand, which ended up looking like trays full of little play-dough snakes. But they tasted good.
When I woke up yesterday morning my right hand was swollen and bruised from my cheese straw adventure, so the 1/2 a scarf never made it to a whole.

My hand is feeling much better today though, so I should have the scarf finished by Monday morning. I will have pictures of the 24 scarves posted tonight. I have some Christmas errands to run and then when I get back home I can upload the pictures.

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Hubby, Scarves. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 24 1/2

  1. Yarn Thing says:

    24 and a half!!! HOLY CRAP!!

    Marly

Leave a Reply

