The Story of how a Deer hit our car…




A deer hit our car!

Originally uploaded by caednkat

Not that very long ago we got a new used car. A lovely blue Crysler Pacifica. Hubby was able to work up an awesome deal on this car. I love it, the kids love riding in it.

Our last Friday night in Alabama my hubby decided to run to CVS, I offered to go with him. So off we went. We went to the first CVS and then decided to go to the other one in town (he was chasing a deal he had found on slickdeals.net).

There we were riding down the hwy (not a back country road), chatting away and out of the corner of my eye I saw a deer’s face through the front window. All I actualy saw as it’s nose and mouth before *wham*. It jumped right into the side of our car.

I suppose it struck where you can see the dent in the picture, then it kind of slide down the side of our car, scratching the car as it went. It tore our bumper off on that side.

Hubby headed for the median to stop and check the car, while I watched car after car (smaller then ours mind you) just roll right over the deer without slowling down. Apparantly since moving away from Alabama we have turned into sissy’s who have to stop our car after hitting a deer. No one else even slowed down. lol

Thankfully hubby and I survived, and the car for the most part is okay. The passanger door pops everytime you open it. It’s really fun to do in a crowded parking lot. Everyone turns and looks. lol
The bumper rattles as we drive along now, I guess the duct tape is losing it’s hold. As soon as our income tax comes back we will be able to get her (the car) fixed. Until then she looks pretty sad.

The funny thing about all this is that I am a huge Gilmore Girls fan. In the first season a deer hit the jeep that Rory was driving. All I could think while we were sitting in the median trying to get our insurance company on the phone was….

“Oh my God, I just got Hit by a deer.” (quote from the episode Deer Hunters)

Ah, it’s the small things that can make me smile. Like the Gilmore Girls reference, and thinking back to the tiny car behind us just bump bumping over that big ole deer without ever slowing down.

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

