Did you ever have a pen pal?

 

When I was a child we would go to Panama City Beach FL every summer.  I loved those trips.  Of course when you are a child you think every trip is wonderful.  Looking back I realize that these trips were probably as fun for my mom as trips are now for me with children.  There is all the packing and planning, and since we rarely ate out even on vacation there was meal planning involved too.  Bless my mother’s heart.

I’m not sure how old I was when I met my friend on the beach.  I remember that vacation though, playing on the beach and building sand castles and digging swimming pools.  When it came time to say goodbye we exchanged addresses.  Tiffany and I wrote letters to each other for a few years.  I am sad to say that I don’t remember exactly how long.  I remember the letters though.  I also remember us sending each other flavored toothpicks in our envelopes.  Does anybody else remember those?  Such a strange thing for kids to love.

I also remember that one summer after we had met our vacations overlapped and we got to meet up again.  During that visit my  mother took picture of me and Tiffany standing on the beach together our hair stringy from being in the ocean. 

Its funny how when something is on your mind you keep seeing things related to it everywhere.  For a month or so now Tiffany my old pen pal has been on my mind.  I wonder where she lives and how her life turned out.  All that thinking got me to thinking about writing letters.  I used to love opening the mailbox and finding a handwritten letter. I also loved taking my little wooden lap desk and going outside to write letters.  (I had a lovely slanted wicker box with a lid that locked.)  Inside I would keep my envelopes and papers and stamps and my old letters from Tiffany.  I wonder what happened to that box.

In all that thinking I realized that my children have probably never written a letter to anyone.  Nor have they seen me write a letter either.  Then just a few weeks ago my mother told me she wanted to get both of my kids some stationary and stamps so they could write and mail letter to her and my dad.  I also had my hubby’s aunt ask if I had thought about having the kids write letters to family for part of their school work.

Then today I see that one of the podcasts I listen to  (CraftSanity) has just added a podcast on the art of letter writing.

Maybe it’s time I break out the pen and paper and take some time to sit and write someone a letter.

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Did you ever have a pen pal?

  1. Dani in NC says:

    I had a Japanese pen pal when I was about 12, I think. We may have exchanged 3 or 4 letters before the whole thing petered out. My kids have also tried having e-mail and snail mail pals, but it didn’t last.

    I think it almost makes more sense to have a pen pal as a teenager when you have a lot to talk about. If my 15-year-old had a pen pal, she would know how to keep the conversation going!

Leave a Reply

