Pierpont…

If you are an avid Gilmore Girls watcher then you probably know who Pierpont is.  If not then this post probably won’t make much sense to you. 

It’s apparent to most people how much I love the show Gilmore Girls.  For years it was my weekly escape to a lovely little small town.  While watching the show I often thought that I want to “grow” up to be Babette.  She is the neighbor in town who is quirky and loud but everybody loves her.  On top of that her yard is full of garden gnomes.

In one episode someone steals one of her gnomes.  His name was Pierpont…

“BABETTE: It’s the darndest thing. I came out just now and I noticed that he was gone. Just like that.
LUKE: I’m sorry, who’s missing?
BABETTE: Pierpont, gorgeous.
LORELAI: Her gnome.
LUKE: Her gnome?
BABETTE: The one with the pipe.
LUKE: Oh.
BABETTE: Oh God, I hope nothing’s happened to him. You get so attached to their little faces, sometimes you can hear them talk to you at night.”

That has to be one of my favorite Gilmore Girl moments.

For Christmas this year my mother (a new Gilmore Girls convert) put a little Pierpont in my Christmas stocking.

 

Isn’t he cute?

Then during our visit we went to see my grandparents.  A few weeks late they were going to be packing up their house and moving into an assisted living apartment.  Since a lot of my childhood memories were in that house I went through taking pictures of each and every room.  It was then that I noticed something I had never seen before.

My grandmother had quite a little collection of gnomes.  When they packed up to move the gnomes traveled to NC to live with me.

So I would like to introduce you to my new friends.  My hubby hates them, lol.  I plan to hide them in the yard.  Stuck slightly into bushes and pots of flowers.  I don’t want you to walk up in the yard and think “oh, look at all the gnomes”.  I just like knowing they are there.

And my favorite…

They don’t have names… at least not yet. lol

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in random. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pierpont…

  1. Laurah says:

    That’s a really cute story! I watched Gilmore Girls from season one to about season three and I can completely hear that conversation in my head.
    Your gnomes are so adorable, too! I love that second picture.

  2. Tami says:

    I’m glad you posted this. I was trying to remember Pierpont’s name and just couldn’t so I Googled “Babette’s gnome” and your page popped up. Thanks.

    If you haven’t named your gnomes yet, I think Maury would be a good name for one of them… You know, since you can’t name any of them Babette, Maury would be the next best thing.

  3. My company just started a promotion with Travelocity so they sent the Travelocity Gnome to each of our stores for display. I named ours Pierpont since I love Gilmore Girls and am in the middle of rewatching the series, which I do once a year. Though I like Xanth author Piers Anthony’s idea of all Gnome names starting with a G….

  4. assisted living is nice if you got some people and a home that cares very much to its occupants *;.

Leave a Reply

