Mason Dixon Knitting

A year or so ago before I really got caught up in the online knitting community, I walked into Barnes and Noble.  On one of the front tables I saw a book (imagine that), the cover was interesting and it had knitting in the title so I picked it up to flip through it.  One of the things that the book opened too was the Ball-band dishcloth. 

At the time although I had learned to knit a few years earlier (01) I did not consider myself a knitter.  I was a crocheter through and through and for that matter I had never crocheted a dishcloth.  The idea of spending precious craft time to make something that would get dirty and yucky seemed silly to me.  Especially since it took me 3x as long to knit something as it did to crochet it.

I quickly put the book down.

Almost a year ago when I got my invite to Ravelry I started getting into knitting.  I also crocheted my first dishcloth.  I fell in love with the way the crocheted dishcloths worked to clean my counters.  Plus opening the drawer and seeing something I made would make me smile.  As I got more into the online craft community I started noticing the very large amount of Ball-band dishcloths.  I just didn’t understand the appeal. 

Then I started seeing Log Cabin Blankets on different blogs.  After a few months I gave in and ordered the Mason Dixon Knitting book.  Now not only am I addicted to the Ball-band dishcloth (my kids think it’s the coolest thing in the world).  I have decided that as part of my “become a better knitter” goal I am going to try and knit my way through many of the projects in this book this year.  I really love that this book has so many useable patterns.  I enjoy knitting and crocheting for the craft time sake of it, but I also really like having the end results that get used on a daily basis.

So here are my first 3 ball-band dishcloths (one was for my kitchen swap partner).  I had to make myself a teal and brown one too because it turned out so cute. I have a 4th on on the needles right now. lol  I’ll share the projects I plan to tackle later on.

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Dishcloths, knitting, Pattern Books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mason Dixon Knitting

  1. Karen Carter says:

    Those are really cute and I’ve been wanting to make me some. Were they difficult? How long did it take?

  2. Pingback: More Baby Gifts.. « On Hooks and Needles

Leave a Reply

