Captain Planet… he’s our hero…

I used to love that show when I was younger.  Now it has become the sign that Earth Day is getting close.  The past two years near Earth Day some cartoon channel has done a Captain Planet marathon.  My kids are enthralled by this show.

I see it as a reminder that this Earth conscious/ tree-hugging phase comes in and out of “Vogue”.  Yes as a child I wanted so desperately to save the Rainforests and the Whales and the Dolphins.  I wore tie-dyed T-shirts… although honestly I’m not sure why, they just seemed to go along with the Save the…. Message. lol

Now “saving” something is popular again.  However I honestly question why.  I really don’t buy into the who Global Warming thing that Al Gore is pushing. 

Now to clarify I am not crazy or some kind of idiot because I don’t agree with him.  I have just read a ton of stuff by scientists who think Al Gore is crazy and can show that the climate has gone up and down many times.  I tend to believe the scientists and weather people who’s information I have read over Al Gore.

Now that being said, I do think that we as human’s are doing a horrible job of taking care of the planet.  The thing I find really strange is that the majority of people I interact with who think “going green” is nuts are Christians.  As a Christian I just don’t understand that mind set. 

I mean I walk outside and I can see God’s touch in the trees and flowers and this beautiful land that I believe He made.  So since I believe God made all this beauty around me, how can I trash it?  I can I think it’s okay to use it all up and cover it with trash? 

Plus, going green can save you money! lol  If you do it right anyway.  Of course if you happen to watch TV or browse around online you could go into major debt in your attempt to go green.  It seems like this current craze has just become an excuse to blow money.  Back in the day the Rainforest shirts weren’t really that cute, so you didn’t have the cute well-off ladies running out to buy them up.  Like is happening now with the popular re-usable grocery bags.

Okay, there are the very random thoughts going on in my head today.  Happy Earth Day, from my family to yours.  I will be spending the evening knitting away on yet another dishcloth.  Can you believe I haven’t bought a roll of paper towels in over 4 years? 

Now I just need to learn to sew so I can make some napkins.  That’s what my family really needs right now.

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

