Well it happened….

It’s taken me a while to blog about it…

But honestly I’m still getting used to the idea…

I’m now the mom of an 8 year old.

All the other ages I could deal with, but I vividly remember being 8 years old.  For some reason that just freaks me out.

Back on April 5th my little boy turned 8.  Caedmon and I have a strange relationship.  We are too much alike and so often we bump heads.  However I love that little monkey like I love no one else. 

I will admit I am in a little bit of denial about him being 8 though.  It may be silly but with everything else going on in our life right now, I just can’t deal with the kids getting older too.  So in my mind he’s still 7 and I’m okay with that.

 

Staying up late to watch LOTR!

The night before his actual birthday hubby got him out of bed after Kathryn had fell asleep and they stayed up late to watch the first Lord of the Rings movie. Caedmon has been begging to watch it for a year or so now, but we kept telling him no. I knew he would be okay with it because he is not the kind of kid who really buys into fantasy type stuff. He’s very much like his dad that way. He loved the movie and can’t wait to watch the second one now.

On his actual birthday we spent most of the day running around town letting him spend all his birthday money. He actual chose to buy 2 new pairs of shorts and 3 new shirts so I was very proud of him!

When we got home I started on his cake and getting stuff ready for his birthday diner. His choice this year was steak, Shells and Cheese, Corn, Apple Sauce and Cheese Puffs. lol We also made “cake balls” which were horribly messy to make but they tasted okay and the kids had a blast making them.

Cake Balls made by the kidlets

I always hoped that I would have a boy first. I got my wish and I hope that whatever it was my little man wished for on his birthday cake this year that he gets it too.

IMG_3992

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Caedmon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

