Kathryn the Ballerina

Okay this will be a two day post and then hopefully I will get back in the swing of posting regularly.

Last weekend was my little girl’s first dance recital. Kathryn first mentioned wanting to be a ballerina right after she learned the word. It’s all she has talked about for years. In preschool and Sunday School when they would do art projects involving what they wanted to be when they grew up or what they thought God made them for her answer was always the same. A Ballerina.

This year she started taking dance lessons. Ballet 1 and Tap 1, she adores the classes and was having a really good time. Although I started to notice that as we got closer to the recital she would disappear to her room alone more often. That was kind of strange for my little girl who hates to be alone. Then I realized that she was secretly practicing her dances. For the longest time she wouldn’t even talk to me about it and then she slipped up and told me she was worried she would have to look at the teacher to remember her dance. She remembered going to a friend’s recital last year and all the little girls were looking to the side and watching the teacher. She caught on to the fact that when we go watch the Dance Collective (the local pre-professional troupe) that they all look straight ahead. She was nervous that she would forget her dances and have to watch the teacher.

The last two weeks before the recital my poor little girl was barely sleeping she was so nervous. I tired talking with her and telling her that looking to the teacher isn’t a bad thing, that it would be okay. I tired praying with her, but nothing would calm her down. So we came to last Friday, while we were getting ready to head to the dress rehearsal Kathryn was as white as a sheet and kept complaining that her stomach was fluttery. By the time I dropped her off backstage and my mom and I found a seat Kathryn’s nervousness had me worked into a tizzy.
So my mom and I sat and waited for Kat’s first big number. I don’t think I have ever been as nervous as I was then, even way back in the day when I had my own dance recitals.
To make a long story shorter, Kathryn got on stage for her ballet number. She danced her little heart out and not only did she get every step right, she never looked over to her teacher. Not even once. The smile on her face when the ballet number was over was priceless!

Kat's favorite out of the bunch...
My Kathryn...
The End

Then mom and I had to sit and wait forever for Kathryn’s tap number. The dance that she was the most nervous about because when she would practice it at home she would forget the steps. But the dance came and she did a wonderful job. I remember her glancing over once or twice but I’m not sure if she was looking to the teacher or if she was looking at the other dancers to make sure she was on track. Either way IMO she did an amazing job!
Look at that smile...
Most of them caught up.
So  cute!!!!!!!!!!

Tomorrow we’ll talk about the actual Recital!

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Dance, Kat. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

