It was a very Happy Mother’s Day…

Hubby and my kidlets always do a really good job on holidays. If nothing else I have to give them that. Especially after I read on message boards post after post from ladies who’s hubbys didn’t do anything for them for mother’s day because they aren’t their (the hubby) mother. I tell you it makes me thankful for my hubby, even with all his faults. lol

Of course since Mother’s Day is on a Sunday I had to get up early to get ready for church, and to try my best to get the kids up on time. For some reason my children will wake up at 6am on weekdays without help, but when Sunday rolls around and I need them to get up they want to sleep in until 8:30ish. Hubby has to be at church by 9 so it makes for a hectic morning trying to get the kids up and ready.

We made it out of the house a little late because Caedmon didn’t want to get up. Ran by McDonalds for breakfast, and then headed on to church. Our church service doesn’t start until 10:30 so the kids and I had an hour to sit and wait. I crocheted on a baby blanket (I have pictures to share tomorrow), and the kids drove me crazy. Our church give out two 100 dollar plus gift baskets on both Mother’s Day and Father’s Day, when you come into church if you are a mother (on mother’s day) you get a ticket. Then after song service they draw a ticket number and call out the winners. I didn’t win. The kids were pretty upset. But honestly the baskets didn’t look like they contained anything I really wanted or needed so it would have just been more stuff to junk up the house.

When we got home hubby made lunch for everyone, then the kids wanted to give me my gifts. They all did a really good job. Hubby has become quite the deal hunter, and at Christmas that was quite evident. Although he gave me lovely gifts that I really did like as I was opening each thing he pointed out how cheap he got it. It made me feel like he only bought me things because they were on sale and not because he thought I would like them. Giving gifts is a big deal to me, so I would honestly prefer a 5 dollar gift that a lot of thought went into instead of something expensive bought just because it was on sale. If that makes any sense. Anyway, this time around he didn’t quote any prices as I opened gifts and although I am sure he did some deal hunting the thought that went into each item was very evident.

First from my kidlets. They each handmade me a card to go on their present.

Cards made by my kids

The top card is from Caedmon it says “It’s Mother’s Day your happy day with birds and trees and flowers I love you mom, caedmon”. Bottom card is from Kathryn and simply said Momy I love you.

Hubby took the kids shopping last week and gave them each a set amount of money to spend on whatever they wanted to get me. I think he did some steering them away from stuff he thought I wouldn’t want. Even so my kids know me well.
From Kat
Mothers day gift from Kathryn
She loves watching cooking shows with me and thought we could watch the dvds together. She also knows how much I love my magazines, and who doesn’t love Martha Stewart?
From Caedmon
Mothers day gift from Caedmon
A Rachael Ray garbage bowl. I have wanted one of her cool bowls since her show first started. Besides that I think my son has a little crush on Rachael Ray. He loves watching her show, and orange is his favorite color so that’s why it had to be the orange bowl. He also picked out a bottle of Paula Deans BBQ sauce. We had some on chicken for supper last night and it is really good! It’s worth how much it costs, but it’s really good. Another perfect gift for a mom who loves Rachael Ray, bowls and BBQ sauce!
From the hubby
Mother's Day gift from Hubby
Two of my favorite movies! Grease and Clueless, I didn’t have either one on DVD and I was so happy to get them. Emma was a surprise, I haven’t ever seen it but I’ve heard it’s good. The CD was a surprise too. Honestly a scary surprise. Hubby and I have very different music tastes and I had never heard of this girl before. It ended up being a good surprise because I adore this CD. Hubby did a really good job picking it out!

After opening presents I got to nap the evening away and then hubby cooked dinner for us. He also cleaned the kitchen! It was a really nice day. I hope you had a lovely Mother’s Day too!

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Caedmon, Hubby, Kat. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

