Baking with Caedmon

I try very hard to let the kids help me in the kitchen. However the truth is that it is so much easier and cleaner if I just do it myself.

Today I decided to bake Pumpkin Muffins. This is one of our favorite muffin recipes! The kids love them year round, so I make them allot.

Anyway, Kathryn was taking a shower when I decided to start baking and Caedmon begged to help. So I let him mix together the wet ingredients.

Making Pumpkin Muffins

He got tired of it really quickly though because the batter is thick and mixing it with a whisk (which he insisted on using) will quickly hurt your arm!

Making Pumpkin Muffins

All of the mixing and arm pain are so worth it in the end because these muffins are super yummy. I first got the recipe from a friend on a parenting message board that I’ve been a part of since I was pregnant with Caedmon.

The original recipe makes really good super decadent muffins. I have made the recipe a little “healthier” over the years with a few adjustments. Either way these are my kids favorite muffins hands down.

I am assuming it is okay to share the recipe on here. If not someone tell me and I can take it down. I searched and can’t find recipe sharing rules anyway. lol

Here is the original recipe my friend shared on our board…

Lori Malloy’s Pumpkin Muffins
1 cup oil (can use 1/2 oil, 1/2 applesauce)
4 eggs, beaten
1 16oz can pumpkin
3 cups sugar (can cut down sugar even as far as 2 1/4 cup, to taste)
3 1/2 cups All Purpose Flour (can use all or part whole wheat flour)
2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1 cup chopped pecans, opt.

Preheat Oven to 350.
Combine wet ingredients. Whisk together dry ingredients and add to wet until just combined. Do not overmix.
Bake until centers aren’t squishy. 10-15 minutes for minis, 18-20 minutes for full-size.

Making Pumpkin Muffins

I really don’t change much to the recipe when I make it. I use half oil and half applesauce, whole wheat flour for part of the flour when I have it, I cut back on the sugar usually using 2 cups. I also generally add a lot more cinnamon then the recipe calls for and probably a little more nutmeg. We alternate between using no nuts and using either pecans or pumpkin seeds. We also like to add dried cranberries and or raisins.

I know most people think of pumpkin as a fall thing, but these muffins are the perfect thing to have on hand in the summer. It makes my life so much nicer when I have them stored in the fridge and the kids can get their own breakfast.

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Caedmon, Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baking with Caedmon

Leave a Reply

