Sausage Cheese Balls

Okay, now I know that this is typically a “Holiday” food. At least when I was growing up it was. My mom would only make these for Christmas and oh how I looked forward to Christmas.

Well I got married and I started making them for my family. I originally stuck to the Christmas only rule. Then DH got the job offer for the store here in North Carolina. We came up here for two days to hunt for a house. While we were up here we stayed with the couple who had started the store DH would be managing. The first morning we were at their house we got up to be told there was breakfast in the fridge and to help ourselves. In the refrigerator was fruit and sausage cheese balls. It was June! It was Christmas, but there were Sausage Cheese Balls there. They weren’t even there as a snack but for breakfast! I was beyond shocked.

Well two years ago I discovered that my children loved Sausage Cheese Balls. Which is funny since my daughter hates Sausage and my son hates Cheese. lol So they have now started popping up throughout the year instead of just at Christmas.

In fact they make the perfect summer breakfast food to have on hand. My kids love to get up super early in the summer. I don’t. So I like to make things that they can grab for breakfast without me or hubby having to get up and fix something for them. Sausage Cheese balls are perfect for that. They can grab a few, and some fruit (I keep apples washed and ready, and grapes washed and ready for them).

So I thought I would share my version of Sausage Cheese Balls with you. I’m sure it’s the same as many others out there, but this is the recipe that my mom always used too.

Sausage Cheese Balls

Sausage Cheese Balls

3 cups baking mix (like Bisquick) 1 lb Sausage (our favorite is Tennessee Pride) 2 cups shredded sharp Cheddar Cheese (one bag)

Mix all ingredients together well. Roll the mixture into balls. Place on cookie sheet in 300 degree oven for 20 minutes.

Enjoy! I usually cook about half a batch a little longer because Caedmon and I like ours to be crunchy on the outside. Caedmon and I also like to eat them cold where Hubby and Kathryn put them in the microwave for 15 to 20 seconds to warm them up.

Sausage Cheese Balls

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Caedmon, Cooking, Hubby, Kat. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sausage Cheese Balls

  1. Dani in NC says:

    I haven’t had sausage cheese balls in ages! I don’t think my kids have ever tasted them because the only place that I used to run into them was at office parties. I’ve been trying to think of something quick for breakfast on school days that isn’t cereal. This sounds like something I could make and have in the fridge for the kids to warm up for themselves.

Leave a Reply

