Ravelympics

Yes I jumped on the bandwagon. I’m generally not a huge fan of the Olympics, normally all it means is that my normal TV shows are off the air. This year is a little different in our house though. I have two kids (mostly the boy child) who are insisting in watching the coverage as much as it is on.

Since I knew that was going to be the case I signed up for the Ravelympics. In case you don’t know about the Ravelympics here is a brief description copied from Ravelry.
The First International Ravelympics Summer 2008 are open to any knitter or crocheter on Ravelry ready to challenge themselves to complete a project (or projects) within 17 days during the Summer Olympics.

The status yesterday was that 5651 Ravelers had signed up for the Ravelympics and those Ravelers had signed up to compete with 16210 projects! 9 of those projects are mine! I know that’s crazy! To complete 9 projects in 17 days I have a lot of work ahead of me, especially since all of those are knitting projects and I am a fairly slow knitter. Luckily the majority of those projects are really small.

Here is what “events” I am “competing” in.
afghanmarathon – knit baby blanket
babydressage & hatdash – baby hat 1
babydressage & hatdash – baby hat 2
babydressage & hatdash – baby hat 3
babydressage & hatdash – baby hat 4
babydressage & giftknitpentathalon – bibs of love (x2 for a girl)
babydressage & giftknitpentathalon – bibs of love (x2 for a boy)
hatdash – Hat for my daughter
hatdash- Hat for my son

Here is a picture of my bag full of all the yarn for these projects.
Ready for the Ravelympics

And a picture of the project I cast on for yesterday.
Baby Blanket

Okay back to the Olympics. Swimming is supossed to be starting in a little while and I have two kids excited to watch it.

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ravelympics

  1. leah says:

    Wow! 9 projects! We’re cheering you on!

  2. Alison says:

    Good luck with all those projects. I thought I better stick to just two. Loving the olympic coverage thus far.

Leave a Reply

