Just Enough Blanket for my mom…

A while back we found out that my mom was going to have to have a hysterectomy. As soon as I found out I knew that we couldn’t afford the gas money or a plane ticket for me to be there for the surgery. That just about killed me. Even though I knew there was nothing I could do if I was there I felt like I should be.

So what is a girl to do? Yep, that would be run out to Michaels and get some yarn and make my mother a blanket. That way at least a little bit of me would be there. I wanted to make her a nice lacy blanket to match her living room colors so she could keep it out. However my children had other plans and we ended up with Caron Simply Soft Brights in Watermelon. At least it is my mother’s favorite color.

I originally started out making a lacy Mile-A-Minute afghan. I worked on that thing for a few weeks. Then I got mad at it and in a fit of rage at 2am one morning I ripped the whole thing out.

A ugh frogged project

It would have been pretty if I had finished it, but I honestly just couldn’t take looking at it anymore. So there I was at 3am on a Wednesday morning with no clue what to do for this afghan I wanted to finish and get in the mail. So I went and got out a bunch of pattern books and Interweave Crochet magazines. That’s when I ran back across the Just Enough Blanket by Amy O’Neill Houck(scroll down to the bottom to see the picture of this pattern). I had already added it to my queue on Ravelry for future baby gifts, but that night/morning I saw it with new eyes. Then I grabbed my yarn and started working like a mad woman.

This pattern is for a baby blanket, but I added an extra round to it and used a bigger hook so I ended up with a nice lightweight lap blanket that is perfect for someone stuck in a chair recovering from surgery. I also added a row of ruffles (from the Tiramisu blanket) around the edge, because they are fun and girly and I knew my mom would like them.

Just Enough Blanket for My Mom

I started this that Wednesday morning and was completely done with all ends woven in by Sunday afternoon. Had I worked on it daily for any length of time there is no way it would have taken me that long. It’s a very simple pattern and turns out so cute! I can’t wait to make a baby blanket like the pattern is actually for. lol

Just Enough Blanket for My Mom

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Crochet, gift, Pattern Books. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just Enough Blanket for my mom…

  1. leah says:

    Lovely! Sounds like the perfect gift!

  2. Amy says:

    Wow–it looks great–your mom will love it!

  3. ladybugsnlizards says:

    That is just beautiful! I have tried to learn to crochet. I just have NO patience. lol

    I hope your moms surgery goes well. She’ll be in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

