My thumb is numb…

Why you ask? Because I am knitting like crazy on the baby blanket I didn’t finish during the Ravelympics. See in my head I had another week before the baby shower, only it’s a week from Sunday. I don’t want to be working on this at the last moment.

The main problem though is that I am using my new Knit Picks Options Needles to knit it with. Those things are pointy! For some reason when I purl I stick the point into my thumb to push it back through. I’ve tried to not do it, but I forget and start doing it again. So now my thumb is numb.

My gauge was way off too, so what should have been the bottom edge of the blanket is now going to be the side. It’s still going to turn out nice and I am loving the yarn. I’m just frustrated that I actually did knit a gauge swatch this time and still ended up way off. It makes no sense to me. Oh well.

Since I’ve been spending every spare moment knitting (I’m a really really slow purler) I still haven’t taken photos of the other finished projects from the Ravelympics. Of course even if I had I don’t know where I put my photo cord. lol

So here are some pictures I had already uploaded.
These are from our first day of school. Yes I make the kids get dressed and stand by the front door for a “First day of School” photo even though we homeschool. lol Maybe it’s silly but oh well.

First Day of School

I also get them new backpacks each year and fill them with some new school supplies and treats. The big box of crayons is always the big hit for both kids.

First Day of School

First Day of School

School is going well. We haven’t gotten as much done this week as I had planned. But the dizziness (vertigo) has shown back up and it’s hard to teach children when the room is spinning. It’s one of the good things about homeschooling I guess, that I can take a few days off when we need to.

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Baby, Caedmon, Crazy Life, gift, Homeschool, Kat, knitting, ravelympics. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My thumb is numb…

  1. Mandi says:

    Seriously, stop.

    My to-do list?

    *”First day of school” pictures
    *Backpacks with school supplies

    I SWEAR!

  2. Mandi says:

    Oh, ha, and my first thought was that your son is an absolute HEARTBREAKER and your daughter looks positively gorgeous in her glasses…and then you freaked me out by getting inside my head and I forgot for a minute. 😛

  3. Dani in NC says:

    Oh, I feel for ya. I’ve dealt with vertigo before. It is not conducive to getting anything done. My bouts of it are usually light, but I had a really bad one months ago that laid me up in bed for a few days.

    I applaud you for making the first day of homeschool exciting. We used to make a big deal out of opening the curriculum boxes when I was teaching my kids. I have a friend who doesn’t do any of that and she wonders why the school years just drag and blend into each other.

  4. sandrar says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  5. megan fox says:

    Sign: dgcph Hello!!! eqzkk and 2205tyazvrhdug and 121 : I will try to recommend this post to my friends and family, cuz its really helpful.

Leave a Reply

