Baby Gifts

Some friends of ours were due to have a baby boy at the end of the month. Instead they had him a few days ago.
I’ve only seen pictures so far, but he is precious!

These are the gifties I made for the baby shower. These were all Ravelympics projects, although the blanket wasn’t finished within the time it was supposed to be.

Sometimes it is so hard for me to come up with gift ideas. I love making things for people, but I want to make things that I think they will actually use. I don’t want them to be sat up on a shelf just to be looked at. So I knew that for a baby blanket I wanted to go with Cotton. That was when I ran across Crayon on Knit Picks. I ordered enough of it to crochet a baby blanket in green and blue stripes. I knew that Lauren (the mom to be) was crazy about polka dots, so I thought it would be cute to make her a baby blanket covered in bobbles.

Crayon in crochet is not pretty. I started swatching with it and quickly figured out that I wasn’t going to like using it to crochet with.
So instead I cast on to knit a simple baby blanket. It has a Garter stitch border and then stockinet in the inside. I knit this on size 7 circular needles. It took forever because I purl really slowly. However I was really happy with the end result.

Baby Blanket
Baby Blanket for Lauren's little boy

I also knit her two little baby hats. The first was knit in Shine Sport in the Willow colorway following the newborn simple baby hat pattern in Itty Bitty Hats. I want to say I knit this on size 6 needles, but I’m not sure.

Simple Baby Hat

The other hat I knit her was supposed to be larger, but it looks smaller. It was knit using the same size needles and Knit Picks Merino Style in Asparagus.

Simple Baby Hat

Here are all 3 gifts sitting together right before I wrapped them up for the shower.

Lauren's Baby Shower Gift

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Baby, gift, hat, knitting, ravelympics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby Gifts

  1. Great gifts! I LOVE the green color! Nice hats! 🙂

Leave a Reply

