My First Knit Hat

My kids have never been big hat wearers. However my nephew is so I knew that I had to learn to knit hats.
A while back (back at the first of August) I tried out my new set of Knit Picks Options circular needles a ball of Telemark yarn and cast on.
I used the Simple Baby Hat pattern from Itty Bitty Hats. It was a breeze to work up. I was so proud of the result, but it was going to be a gift so I couldn’t share pictures.
Then I started second guessing myself. I had planned to make my nephew a few more hats for his b’day and Christmas and I wanted to make sure that my sizing was right. So I had my mom try the hat on him. It fits him well right now, but there isn’t much room to grow into. That’s info I really needed to know. So I went ahead and let him have the hat, and had my mom snap some pictures of him in it.

Warning… he is the cutest almost 2 yr old around right now!!

My First Hat

My First Hat

And finally the best way to model a hat.

My First Hat

The yarn is Knit Picks Telemark in Caution. This was knit on size 7 circular needles. I can’t remember how many I cast on for it, I have it written down somewhere but I can’t find it. Isn’t that how it always goes?

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in hat, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

