A Warm Hat for Baby Macy…

I have friends in Colorado who had a baby girl a while back. If you remember I made them a few bibs and a Tiramisu Blanket and mailed off to them over the summer.

I had planned to knit the baby a nice wool hat for her to wear this winter. I mean really how can a knitter make a baby gift for a Colorado baby without giving them a wool hat? Only my yarn got here late and I didn’t have it finished in time to include in their first package.

Back in October they were planning a visit back to Eastern NC to see family and friends. I knew I would see them at church that Sunday. So I saved the hat to gift them then.

I had planned on making the Ribbons Hat in Itty Bitty Hats. But, Sarah (the mom) doesn’t seem to be into the overly flashy type of baby outfits. So instead I only knit one eylet row on the hat and decided to do a single ribbon and bow. It turned out so cute! It’s even cuter on little baby Macy!!

Warm Hat for Baby Macy
Warm Hat for Baby Macy

If you are a friend who reads this blog and you know Sarah, she has a picture of Macy wearing this hat up on her facebook page.
If you don’t know Sarah you will just have to trust me that it is adorable on!

This hat is the Ribbons Hat in Itty Bitty Knits, the only mod was the one eyelet row and I tied the ribbon instead of leaving the ends sticking out. This was knit on size 6 circular needles. Using Knit Picks Merino Style Wool in Petal. The ribbon I found at Michaels. I was so lucky because Petal is an odd shade of pink and I didn’t think I would find anything to match. But this ribbon has that exact shade of pink in it, and it matches the brighter pink hat I’m knitting for my cousin’s new baby. So I only had to buy the one roll.

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Baby, gift, hat, knitting, Pattern Books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Warm Hat for Baby Macy…

  1. Such an adorable baby hat! I love the pink yarn and the ribbon is so cute! Great gift! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

