Busy as a Bee…

I hope you are having a wonderful Thanksgiving! It’s really my favorite Holiday. I love Christmas, but Christmas makes me a little sad. Christmas Day is the end of the Holiday season, where as Thanksgiving to me is the beginning.

I have already been out shopping in the crazy sales this morning. Kmart had sold out of what I wanted, but CVS and Rite Aid had everything in stock. I’m headed out into the madness tomorrow morning too. I love it. I take along my Ipod all loaded up with Christmas Music. I pop in my headphones and listen to Christmas music while pushing through the crowds. I treat myself to breakfast out (Chick Fil A) and have a wonderful 3-4 hours out shopping all alone. Then I’m home before hubby even heads out to work.

Most of my cooking is done. The turkey is in going in the oven in just a little while, and the house smells awesome.
My tree is up and we will decorate it tonight after we eat.

I had said a week or so ago that I would share some of my favorite cookie recipes and I thought I would start today.

Trust me, you have to make these. The picture nor reading the recipe doesn’t do justice to these cookie bars. Whenever I make them for hubby’s store functions they are always first to fly out of the door!

Chocolate Raspberry Bars

Chocolatey Raspberry Crumb Bars

1 cup (2 sticks) butter or margarine, softened
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups (12-ounce package) semi-sweet chocolate chips, divided
1 can (14 ounces)Sweetened Condensed Milk
1/2 cup chopped nuts (optional)
1/3 cup seedless raspberry jam

Directions:
PREHEAT oven to 350° F. Grease 13 x 9-inch baking pan.

BEAT butter in large mixer bowl until creamy. Beat in flour, sugar and salt until crumbly. With floured fingers, press 1 3/4 cups crumb mixture onto bottom of prepared baking pan; reserve remaining mixture.

BAKE for 10 to 12 minutes or until edges are golden brown.

MICROWAVE 1 cup morsels and sweetened condensed milk in medium, uncovered, microwave-safe bowl on HIGH (100%) power for 1 minute; STIR. Morsels may retain some of their original shape. If necessary, microwave at additional 10- to 15-second intervals, stirring just until morsels are melted. Spread over hot crust.

STIR nuts into reserved crumb mixture; sprinkle over chocolate filling. Drop teaspoonfuls of raspberry jam over crumb mixture. Sprinkle with remaining morsels.

BAKE for 25 to 30 minutes or until center is set. Cool completely in pan on wire rack.

Make sure you cut those up small. They are super rich! So good though. I always leave the nuts out, and I’ve made them with other jams as well. Try them, you will like them!!

Happy Thanksgiving!!!!!!!!!

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Crazy Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Busy as a Bee…

  1. Karen says:

    Those do look good; they are low fat, right?! 🙂

  2. Melissa Pearson says:

    Those are my absolute favorite! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I’m going to copy it into the recipe book I’m making for myself.

Leave a Reply

