Candy Cane Hat for my Matty

Here are pictures of the gift I made for my nephew that I mentioned a while back.

Secret Gift....

His birthday was last weekend and he got to have it a little early. I hope to get some good photos of it on his head sometime soon, although I have gotten word that he has taken the poor little pom-pom off. lol

Candy Cane Hat for Matty

Yep it’s a Candy Cane Hat from Itty Bitty Knits. Have you guessed yet that I love that book?

The yarn is Knit Picks Telemark in Drift and Cardinal. I think they are perfect candy cane colors. The white is kind of creamy, which looks more like a candy cane to me then it would if it was bright white.

This was knit on a size 6 circular. I started it around 3 in the morning and was finished at around 11 that night. Although I did not knit non-stop on it at all. It was a quick and easy knit. I hope to size the hat up and make one for each of my kids for next year. I wonder if I can make Caedmon wear it?

I am really proud of the striping though. Probably the most proud I have been of a knit project. I have never been able to change colors before without the color change showing and I think I figured it out on this hat. Just twisting the yarn when I would change really worked.

Candy Cane Hat for Matty

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Christmas Gifts, gift, hat, knitting, Pattern Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Candy Cane Hat for my Matty

Leave a Reply

