I live to procrastinate….

I thought over the next few days I would share our Christmas with you.

We moved to North Carolina in 2003. So this is our 6th Christmas here. This was also the 6th year that I have made breakfast for all of my husband’s employees on Christmas Eve. The first few years I just made the food and he took it with him and me and the kids stayed home. Then the kids and I started going along too.
It’s become a part of my Christmas tradition.
This year the store moved to a new location. At their old location they had a large building next door that they used as a food and clothing bank. In that building there were enough tables for everyone to sit at so we would do the breakfast there. This year we were without a location to have the breakfast at.

That’s when I opened my big mouth and inserted my foot into it.
“Why don’t we just have it at our house?”

Hubby agreed and it wasn’t until after he started telling the staff about the change in plans that I realized that meant we would have a bunch of people in our house around 7-8 am on Christmas Eve.
I had weeks to get ready. I made lists and plans.

When did I start cleaning? Yep that would be Tuesday. I stayed up all night Tuesday night into Wednesday cleaning the house. I washed all the walls, swept, mopped, dusted. My house was spotless. I didn’t think I would get it all done, especially since I had food to cook.
But I did.

The pictures of the house I shared yesterday were taken about 5 minutes after everyone left.
Other then my oven taking forever to reheat my Sausage Hashbrown Casserole and Cheese Grits, the morning went off without a hitch. All the food was wonderful and my house was clean.

Here is a blurry picture of the table set with food. I took it without the flash on because I didn’t want hubby’s staff to know that I was being weird and taking pictures of the food. lol On the table are Biscuits, Cheese Grits, Sausage Hash brown Casserole, Tangelo sections, Sausage Swirls, Pioneer Woman’s Cinnamon Rolls.

Breakfast for Dh's Staff

Everyone was gone by 9:45 am and the kids let me take a nap around 11. At that point I had been awake for 27 hours straight. I think I would have felt much better if I hadn’t taken the nap though.

I’ll share pictures of the rest of Christmas Eve tomorrow.

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Christmas Gifts, Crazy Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

