Travel Day

We left the town my family lives in around 6:30 that Monday morning. That was after stopping by McDonalds for breakfast.
The drive itself wasn’t really all that bad. I wasn’t paying that close attention to how long it was taking though so that might be part of the reason it didn’t seem bad to me. I was really just along for the ride.

We started out with both of my kids and my mom in the backseat of my parents car, I rode up front with my dad. Then my brother, his wife and their son followed behind us in their car.

When my family drives to Alabama with my husband we usually make one maybe two stops during the whole 10 hour trip (11-12 hours if anyone else was driving). We just don’t stop unless we need to get gas, or to get a fast bite to eat.
My parents and my brother do not go by that type of travel. We made many stops. Even stopping for an hour or so for lunch and for the kids to play on the McDonalds playground. I can deal with traveling either way, but I do have to admit that the frequent stopping somehow made the trip seem shorter.

My kids ended up playing musical cars and swapping out riding with my brother and his family at each stop. So they were very entertained by the whole trip. I spent the last leg finishing up the 2nd book in the Sookie Stackhouse series, and anytime I am reading time just flies.

I’m not sure what time we arrived at our hotel. I want to say it was around 4 or 5 but you can’t quote me on that. The time change coupled with bouncing back and forth between time zones had done a number on me and I couldn’t figure out what clocks had the right time on them. I eventually gave up.

We made it though and one of the coolest things in the world was seeing all the orange trees on either side of the road. Gosh I love oranges.

Anyways, our hotel was next door (literally) to an outlet mall with a Disney Outlet. So after getting all our stuff in our room we headed over there to look for cheap Disney stuff. Then we went in the Old Navy and a few other stores. After that the kids were about to explode wanting to get in the swimming pool.

My brother and I grew up with my grandparents in ground pool in our backyard, so hotel swimming pools have never held that much interest for us. My kids however were just about as excited about that pool as they were about Disney World. lol

Caedmon

My daughter the water fairy

He loved kicking in the water

After the kids swam around for a while we all headed back up to the hotel for Pizza (Pizza Hut was on the bottom floor of the hotel). Then off to bed with dreams of “Mouse” (as Matty kept saying) floating in our heads.

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Crazy Life, Disney. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

