Choosing to be Happy…

Do you think it could really be that simple? That you just choose to be happy and you are? I’ve been seeing segment after segment on several different TV shows about how women today are more unhappy then ever. Even the “oppressed” 50’s era housewife was happier then today’s woman. Or so they say.

I’ve spent most of my life waiting to be happy. Blaming everyone around me for my unhappiness. Hoping that someone or something would come along and I would magically be happy.

I just turned 29 and realized I have wasted a lot of time waiting.

I’m tired of being unhappy and I’m tired of waiting for “happy” to show up.

So I’m looking for it instead. I’ve always wanted to do the 365 photo project. I want to take better pictures and figure out how to really work my camera well. I also want to find all the little places that “happy” has been hiding in my daily life.

So I’m starting my own 365 days of Happy project. I probably won’t get around to uploading the pictures every day and I don’t expect to post each days photo on this blog. My hope is to do a look back on the week type post with all the pictures in it.

My first picture isn’t that great. But it makes me smile, and the day itself made me happy and that is the point in this project!!

Gray Rainy Fall Day (1/365)

The high here never left the lower 60’s today. For the majority of the day there was a fine mist of rain, sometimes it would get heavy enough to hear it through all the open windows in my house. The gray skies and the bright colors of the leaves turning around town made me smile many times over. I am convinced that this is how my corner of heaven will be all the time. 🙂

I wanted to add that I got the original idea for the 365 days of happy from Mindi’s blog the simple life, she did 52 weeks of happy. Which would be a much more reasonable goal for myself, but when have I ever set reasonable goals? lol

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in 365 Happy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

