Fancy – 2010

This is my second year choosing to pick a word for the year instead of doing resolutions.

Last year my word was nurture.  I focused on doing things that would nurture me, my family and my home.

This year my word is Fancy.  It’s a word I use a ton, without realizing it.  I’m southern, I can’t help it.

64/365

I had never looked up the definition though.  When I sat down at the end of 2009 and started thinking about what word to choose for the upcoming year, it was the word that kept coming to my mind.  At first I ignored it because it seems like a silly choice.  After a few days I still kept coming back to it.  So I broke down and looked it up.

Fancy – suggests an imagining often unrestrained by reality but spurred by desires.

Too often I make choices based on what I think others think is right for me.  Instead of making choices based on what I want for me and for my life.

I decided that this year would be about dreaming big.  Following my fancies and turning my life and my home into something that I fancy.  Instead of something that I think other people will like.

Of course I made this declaration.  I spent my Christmas money on a lovely stamped necklace.  I started thinking about 2010 and things I could do to fancy ourselves a happy life.  I started dreaming big and thinking this would be a great year.

Then at the end of last week we found out that as of the end of January the hubby will be unemployed.  The store that he manages has been sold and will close at the end of the month.  I think actually the store will remain open with a different name.  Either way, he is out of a job. (Our current plan is for him to find work here, so we can stay in the town we live in.  We really want to be able to keep our house.)

So….  I could regret the choice of word that I made.  Or I could embrace it.  See it as a clue from God that I was going to find myself in a place this year where I would need to focus on what I wanted out of my life.  I could keep dreaming big.

For the past few days I’ve been leaning towards crawling in a hole and regretting my word choice. lol  Then my necklace arrived in the mail yesterday.  The day I found out that all the papers had been signed to sell the store the hubby works for.  Everything was final and I had been crying for hours.  Then my necklace came.  I saw it as a little wink from God.

He has given me big dreams, and an awesome life.  It’s time I stop looking at the negative and focus on what is ahead of us.  We have a lot to be thankful for.  Even now.

My word for 2010

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in 365 Happy, Crazy Life, Hubby. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

