I did it!!

You quickly learn as a knitter that one of the phrases you will hear most often is “I wish you could teach me to do that.”.  Oh if only I had a dollar for every time I have heard that, well that or “I don’t have the patience/time to do something like that.”. 

Anyway, every time someone has said that to me in the 8 years I’ve been knitting I have brushed them off.  “Sure, anytime.”  Thing is I never had any intention to make time.  I knew that I was capable of teaching myself to knit.  I mean I had done that.  But someone else?  Nope.

Last year my daughter decided she wanted to learn.  I bought her a cute little book, some needles and some lovely knitpicks yarn.  It’s been over a year and she still can’t really knit a stitch.  I blamed myself.

So imagine my fear and dread when a friend of mine wanted to learn.  I thought about putting her off and hoping she would forget.  Instead I sucked it up and said sure.  We met last night at Michaels so she could get some cotton yarn and needles.  Then we went and hung out at Barnes and Noble for a while sipping tea, talking, laughing and knitting.

Oh yes we did, because I somehow was able to show her how to cast on and knit.  When we left I was no longer afraid to trying to show someone how to do this craft that I love so dearly, and she was many rows into a lovely bright yellow dishcloth.

65/365
I took the picture when I got home for my 365 days of Happy project. That’s the dishcloth I worked on off and on while we talked, and my cup of tea that my friend so lovingly treated me to. It was a really good night.

 

Maybe it’s a little silly to be this excited.  But, I stepped out of my box and did something I didn’t think I could.  Right now, that makes me pretty gosh darn happy. :)  (The white peach tea was really yummy too!!)

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in 365 Happy, Crazy Life, Dishcloths, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I did it!!

  1. Christy Ragland says:

    I tried to figure out knitting with needles but it was much easier for me to get the hang of knitting on a loom. Perhaps your daughter would injoy that. I certainly do!

    • caednkat says:

      I’ve been thinking about that since you told me you were doing the loom knitting. I think she would love it. She’s such a little perfectionist (gets it from Cory), and if she can’t do something perfect she just won’t try anymore. Drives me nuts. 🙂

  2. Willow says:

    Hello Mandi,

    I happened to read your comment on Posie Gets Cozy, clicked over to look for samples of your blankets and stayed to read a bit. It’s a tough time when you get the news of pending unemployment. (Been there, done that) Hoping all works out well for you.

    Willow

    • caednkat says:

      Thanks Willow! I appreciate the well wishes. I’m in a much better state of mind about all of it now. At least I am today, anyway. 😉 I’ve been enjoying visiting you on your blog too!

  3. Jennie says:

    That’s awesome. I remember trying to teach Graham’s fellow students, 5 at a time, and it was SO HARD. It made me a little gunshy of teaching.

    Sounds like you had a really successful lesson with your friend, though! Wonderful!

    • caednkat says:

      I guess I should have known that teaching an adult would be easier then teaching a child. Still I was shocked. I’m going to teach my SIL when she comes up to visit in February. She’s been asking for years I’ve been putting it off.

Leave a Reply

