Jury Service…

That’s where I have been all week.  For most people I think it sounds like a chore.  I’m loving it.  But, then again, I’m weird like that.  I have always been fascinated by the legal system.  Always.  Even though I am currently seated on a some what boring Civil Trial, I’m still enthralled by it all.

Plus, I am reading an actual book!  *Gasp*  I don’t think I’ve picked up a actual book since last summer.  So I suppose knitting needles not being allowed in the court house was a really good thing for me. 

I need to find a way to balance my love for crafts and my love for reading.  I tend to embrace one and abandon the other.

So since I have no pictures to share I though I would borrow the idea of the Simple Women’s Daybook.

FOR TODAY – Saturday February 20th, 2010
Outside my window… The sun is shining, the temperature is chilly and I can hear my children playing.
I am thinking… That today is going to be a good day.
I am thankful for… Love
From the kitchen… Nothing, I’ve been on Jury Duty all week so hubby has been doing the cooking.  He made the yummiest Pot Roast last night.  It’s one of my favorite meals and he HATES Pot Roast. 
I am wearing… Comfy clothes.  Gray Yoga Pants and a teal long sleeve t-shirt.
I am creating… A knitted blanket
I am going… Grocery Shopping in a bit
I am reading… Wicked by Gregory Maguire… loving every moment of it too.
I am hoping… Hubby will find a job soon
I am hearing… My Ipod.  It’s been on shuffle all morning.  I have a odd mix of music on it.  Last 10 songs have included the Glee Soundtrack, Abba, The Beatles, Miranda Lambert, Carole King, No Doubt, Patsy Cline, Lady Gaga, Pink, and Laura Woodley.
One of my favorite things… A Hello Kitty Necklace my parents gave me for Christmas.  I’ve become very attached to it since I got it.  Normally I would have loved it but never wore it because I was too afraid of what others would think.  With my new mindset and plan to just be myself, I have worn it almost every day.
A few plans for the rest of the week: Reporting back for Jury Duty.  Teaching my kids, Crafting when I can, and reading when I can’t craft.

About caednkat

Wife to Cory since 12-04-99. Homeschool Mom to Caedmon (8) and Kathryn (7). I love to Crochet, Knit, Read, Bake, Watch TV and Movies.
This entry was posted in Crazy Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jury Service…

  1. Dani in NC says:

    –I have a similar problem in balancing my hobbies. Reading, blogging, knitting, TV, and games: There are only so many leisure hours in a day!

    –I couldn’t get through “Wicked” when I attempted it the first time. As I recall, the political stuff in the beginning of the book turned me off. Perhaps I wasn’t in the right frame of mind to commit to something deep.

    –I’m working on a knitted blanket, too! It’s the same blanket that I’ve been knitting on and off since 2001 :-P. I always think that I want to make a blanket, but then I get bored before I’m even halfway through. Why I keep starting them, I don’t know.

    • Mandi says:

      Know the goofy thing… I am almost done with this blanket. Since it’s a gift I am pushing to get it done. Now I’ve reached a point where it’s pretty and lovely and I’m considering making one for myself.
      *Sigh* I know that if I start one I will eventually hate it (during the knitting anyway)…. so why do I want to start it? lol

Leave a comment